Paris is still Paris

Even when everyone was feeling quite worried after the attacks last year. I really do believe this city is not going to lose its atmosphere. Since I arrived everything felt like already known. Walking in the streets to find the Eiffel Tower was one of the easiest things in my first day. I chose to walk because it is the best way to see the city. In my mind, I visited about it one thousand times and the cold reality, because the winter is here, woke me up and made me feel really inspired by the streets, the corners I have seen once and again in different movies, the details on every wall, buildings, everywhere. The most shocking experience for my intellect and emotions was watching the Champs Elysees and the Arc of Triomphe after missing my flight.

290A3923
A painting exposed all the pleasures enjoyed by members of Franc-maconnerie in the Museum of Franc-masonry in Paris.

I was leaving the place without seeing this emblematic construction, which was built to show respect for victories conquered by the French army and nowadays is still showing a flame to remember those soldiers who never returned. It was really interesting because I have seen different pictures of this place many times. Undoubtedly, I even used it as part of my assessment when I was in high school so the chance to be there was overwhelming. When I have the chance to be there I really find the closing point of a thought I had for a long time. The view from the top is amazing because you are able to appreciate the boulevards and order in the Paris’ design. It is really a clear perception from a group particularly interested in lines, measures, and order.

290A3891
This community gave to symbols like triangles, stars and compass among others elements an important role to represent their beliefs and commitments with this organization.

Undoubtedly, I even used it as part of my assessment when I was in high school so the chance to be there was overwhelming. When I have the chance to be there I really find the closing point of a thought I had for a long time. The view from the top is amazing because you are able to appreciate the boulevards and order in the Paris’ design. It is really a clear perception from a group particularly interested in lines, measures, and order.

A few days later, I was walking nearby Boulevard Rochechuart and I was able to find a Franc-mason Museum by accident, it surprised me because I used to listen about them all the time while I was a kid and one of my uncles, with a deep passion for knowing about cultures like Hyksos, an ancient culture from Egypt, or reading books. I have never heard before I was trying to prepare a document about Egyptians for my first year at Uni. I would not miss the chance to see the place as soon as I can.

Everything was notoriously different because it is not the same reading or listening about groups sharing particular values but when I had the chance to see the elements and symbols they use to understand themselves and others, it was quite simple, it is like they were opened to see that human beings are not so different if they share the same opportunities. Of course, most of the members belong to social dominant class but their possibilities to learn from different sources at that time, without doubts, it makes them believe in the possibilities of societies with this type of interchanges.

 

290A3911
The follow different precepts and it was really interesting to find humouristic expressions between their books and documents.

 

Everything was notoriously different because it is not the same reading or listening about groups sharing particular values but when I had the chance to see the elements and symbols they use to understand themselves and others, it was quite simple, it is like they were opened to see that human beings are not so different if they share the same opportunities. Of course, most of the members belong to social dominant class but their possibilities to learn from different sources at that time, without doubts, it makes them believe in the possibilities of societies with this type of interchanges.

Having the opportunity to listen that even women, without getting the same approach to the deepest knowledge at the beginning, they were also considered as part of this construction of identity with the possibility to aspire to the same rights. Ideas, which sooner or later inspired other beliefs like Egalité, Liberté et Fraternité. Values without an expired date but often, they could appear less close than in previous French Revolution era, especially, after the extreme violence from attacks to citizens. Before someone told me in the other line there are people dying too, I do not consider any human life has more value than other. And I wrote this because it is common to listen or read that media is more concerned about people killed in Western countries than in other places.

290A3934
Another perspective of life.

 

On the floor I found a the design of a fingerprint made with the same message in different languages or ideograms, the message says “Être libre, ce n’est pas seulement se debarraser de ses chaines, c’est vivre d’un facon qui respecte et renforce la liberté d’autres”; wich means “Being free, it is not only about to break your chains, it is about living in a way, which respect and reinforce the freedom of others”… These kind of thoughts nurture as well as French Revolution, some ideas from writers or philosophers of gender issues like Madame Beauvoir, who had written many books about female role, throughout her lifetime, in our societies, or other people fighting for experience better conditions in the social context around the world.

290A3949
The digital print on the floor with a simple message in different languages: “Being free, it is not only about to break your chains, it is about living in a way, which respect and reinforce the freedom of others.”

 

Even though I was not able to see all the place, unfulfilling my inner desire to watch all the building, one of the things that impressed me was finding the picture of Arthur Groussier, who wrote at the beginning of the XX century the Legal code for workers in France. Perhaps, when I do not support Communism, which is the extreme political position inspired by this type of ideology. It is impossible to deny the value of considering everyone as a source of knowledge, without prejudices, crazy hate, stupid ideas about being better than others. Openness is what could make the world better, especially, when we have enough hate around us.

You could keep reading more articles this week…

Leave a Reply

